Welcome from your new DanceSport BC President

Tue, Sep 7, 2010


Dear fellow DanceSport BC Members,

The 2010 DanceSport BC Annual General Meeting was held on Sunday, September 5th, at the Travelodge Hotel in Richmond. The meeting was attended by members from throughout the Lower Mainland and Vancouver Island, and elected the following Board of Directors for the 2010-2011 Association year:

President: Ram Randhawa
Vice-President: Pinky Wong
Secretary: Daniel Wong
Treasurer: William Bruce, CGA
Directors: Karina Abe, Genevieve Liang, Jennifer MacGregor-Greer, Andrew Miller, Vyvyan Tsui, Raymond Wong, Emily Yeung

The 2009-2010 Association Year was a challenging one for DanceSport BC in many ways. This year’s Annual General Meeting concluded with a renewed sense of unity and purpose. In keeping with the resolution passed by the members at the 2010 Special General Meeting in March, the Board will produce the 2011 SnowBall Classic at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in downtown Vancouver. The 2011 SnowBall Classic will include the usual IDSF top-level competitions and in addition will also host IDSF’s 2011 IDSF World Cup Standard, and preparations are now well underway. Keep on top of the latest developments by following @DSBC_SnowBall on Twitter!

Further details about the AGM will be sent to all members by e-mail in the coming week. If you have not yet renewed your membership, you can find the application form in the downloads section of our website.

A great deal of work lies ahead, but the spirit of volunteerism and passion for dance survives and flourishes amongst our members. I look forward to working for and with British Columbia’s DanceSport community over the coming months, and invite you to e-mail me at ram@dancesportbc.com with any suggestions, questions, or comments you might have at any time.

Dr. Ram Randhawa
President, DanceSport BC